top of page
Search

Are you a Multitasker?

Updated: Aug 9, 2020

I think that I am what people call a "workaholic". You may be thinking how because I am only 16 years old, but I am a very busy teenager.


When it comes to working or doing tasks that I have a strong passion or desire for, I tend to make it my main focus until I see the whole thing through. I recently started a summer internship and have made it my main priority to pretty much anything else I do. I have put any personal projects and hobbies aside for the time being so I can give these next few weeks my full attention and dedication to working on this internship. My motivation is quite amazing but I need to work on maintaining balance such as taking breaks, drinking water, playing piano, or making time for other things I enjoy doing. Multitasking is something I can do but it is not my strong suit.


When I am doing something new my full attention is on that one thing. I work on just that for a substantial amount of time which could last days...weeks...maybe even a few months if I'm lucky. Once I succeed in doing that "task" and feel like I have gotten a good amount of value out of it, then I move on to the next thing. If what I am doing is working for me then I commit myself to it, but the second it's just not working anymore I stop and move on to the next thing.


My goal is not to end this cycle of trying new things, but to incorporate making these tasks/hobbies (writing, art, etc.) part of my daily mindfulness. I do not have to do every single thing every day, but I want to alternate doing multiple things over time rather than completely stopping them all together. This will help keep my broad range of interests in tact, as well as remind me of what is there for me to lean back on.


24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page