top of page
Search

Finding Light

Updated: Aug 9, 2020

I have not written in a while because it has been hard figuring out what to write. Lately there have been a lot of horrific events going on, which leaves me trying to wrap my head around it all. I have strong thoughts, but feel useless from not being able to create instant change to rid racism and brutal violence. But, I am trying to focus on the things I have done and will continue to do that exercises rights for equality.


Recently I have been working a lot on how I frame thoughts in my mind so that they are beneficial instead of something that pulls me down. Already, I am seeing a difference in my thinking and mood. Even with everything going on, I am trying my best to stay optimistic and recognize when I am thinking negatively and unrealistically. The two main concepts I have been working on are "all-or-nothing thinking" and "over generalization". These are also known as cognitive distortions meaning that your negative mindset is changing how you view things.


Recognizing when these occur have helped me so I am not thinking in "black and white". Instead, I try to find somewhere in the middle between "bad" and "good" or "never" and "always". Even just noticing when these thoughts occur helps me realize how greatly it impacts how I see myself, others, and different situations in life. 


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page